Are you enjoying your summer?

I think I’m enjoying my summer. At least, I’m trying to enjoy my summer.



I had a great evening celebrating my birthday and singing songs with my sister in The Bratton Backyard (look at those siblings singing sad songs together). I’m grateful for the time I had with friends and family, sharing their love with me and enjoying time around the fire.

But life has also felt harried this summer. Everything feels a little rushed, and so many folks who I was hoping to spend time with this summer are feeling similar pressures, working and travelling and taking care of kids who are not at school.

This week I’m away at Arlington Beach Family Camp, and it’s been really great watching Oswald and Ira enjoy camping and playing games, roasting marshmallows and telling stories around the fire. But I’ve still had to check my emails, and write emails, and keep so many balls in the air that I wish I could have left alone for a little longer.

I’m not complaining, I don’t think. I’m grateful for the work and the many opportunities before me right now. I’m looking forward to welcoming my friend Dave Von Bieker to The Bratton Backyard on August 18th - bratton-backyard.square.site/.

I’m looking forward to touring My Little Plastic Jesus in September - burntthicket.com/show/my-l…

I’m even looking forward to renovating my bathroom in August.

But still, I wish I could have stopped and slowed down a little bit more this summer. And maybe that’s what I’m gonna try to do the last few days I have here at camp. I’m gonna try to take a few more quiet moments this week, walking in the gloaming, watching the moon rise.

I hope you find some time to rest too.